Reader Requirements- Judging a book...  

RSS

Tamir Shaw
(@tamir-shaw)
Eminent Member Member
16/11/2017 10:38 pm  

Hey, All!

We know that all books are not created equally. What criteria do you personally use to rate a book? Does that criteria fluctuate? I'm asking because I find that I do not have rigid standards when I read. If a book falls short in one area, it may have redeeming qualities in another that help to balance out the work. Someone told me that this is not fair. What do you think? Keep in mind that I do not review for a living, but as a regular book lover.

ReplyQuote
Paul John Adams
(@zadignose)
Active Member Member
17/11/2017 2:41 am  

Most of the time when I write a review/critique, it's of a book by an author who is dead. When I write a review of a living author, it's not my expectation that the author will ever read or care about my opinion anyway, though I'm somewhat less comfortable reviewing living authors. When it comes to writing a review of a living, less-established author, who is likely to see the review, to whom getting reviews, and especially good reviews, seems important--that's when reviewing seems more intimidating. But maybe, if you want to be fair, it's best to write the review as though the author were dead. I.e., just write what you think, don't worry about what reaction it would produce. You don't even have to worry about being right. Just think, "If I'm mistaken in my review, then that reflects on me, not on the author. We all make mistakes." It may not be easy to think that way, but it's "fair."